Raja Petra should take it as a compliment

Mei 7, 2012 at 6:58 pm 7 comments

Raja Petra Kamarudin may be ‘the’ blogger (big kahuna with capital ‘B) but nonetheless he’s ultimately only one individual lah.

How can anyone compare him to 300,000 Bersih 3.0 marchers?

Or at least 250,000 as initially claimed by the organizers.

But then again, some guesstimated 150,000 participants. Others 100,000. A few foreign media said 80,000.

It could be 50,000 perhaps. Local media “controlled by the BN” quite naturally pegged lower numbers.

Does anyone know the figure given by police who did the usual aerial surveillance?

Oh whatever.

But still it’s kinda silly to devote a whole article comparing the Malaysia Today boss with the big banana (alluding to their yellow shirts) bunch of Bersih protestors.

A guy by the name of Alwyn Lau was astoundingly up to the task, ranting at RPK over almost 20 paragraphs.

I got an itty bitty mention in his write-up, ‘Political enjoyment in Malaysia: From RPK to Bersih‘. Do pop over either to The Malaysian Insider or the New Mandala website to have a read.

Alwyn wrote:

“Helen Ang’s insinuation that Christians are the buddy-arm of DAP seems like an RPK-ish shot a [sic] exploding a kinky national secret except, unlike RPK, she doesn’t have men in black feeding her hidden files, hence her quasi-thesis comes across as boring conspiracy and torrid sociology.”

This is not the first time that Alwyn has paid me a small amount of attention. Previously I was a sidenote in his  article for The Malaysian Insider.

Golly thanks Alwyn. If not for you, my name – even if only appearing within brackets – would otherwise never see the light of day in TMI, hahaha. (Read here on the originating topic)

Alwyn, who says he’s a Christian, was also published in Aliran recently.

Err, do you by any chance attend the same church as the Subang Jaya ‘Saint’ canonized by RPK’s erstwhile buddy Haris Ibrahim?

Entry filed under: Evangelis. Tags: , , .

Guan Eng accused “BN-controlled media” of exploiting Buddhist bodies to run down Penang govt My article out at FMT (updated)

7 Komen Add your own

  • 1. Acdc  |  Mei 7, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Such hatred!

    Balas
    • 2. Helen Ang  |  Mei 7, 2012 at 11:29 pm

      Aaah, a visitor who came here via The Malaysian Insider.

      Balas
  • 3. I hate N'Sync  |  Mei 7, 2012 at 11:30 pm

    Actually it is not too difficult to see where Alywin or Alvin or Allwin is coming from. He is just a Christian who believes that religion should be used to fight political battles and actively engaged in fights for any social injustice. Muslims have been doing that for ages, the Church used to do quite a bit of that, but times have changed.

    I am not worried about religionists interest in politics. My larger concern is when religionists start to use the lingo like “force of darkness”, “satanic worship”, “evil oppression”

    These are not your Christians who turn the other cheek, they give you the finger, ok? Although I did detected a bit of a personal fetish on RPK’s “self-pleasures”. Well, I remembered Jeff Ooi had a lot of “little birds” too. I actually support “public truths”, although I confess I don’t know what he meant by that though. I mean, ANY allegation, whether made in private or via the world wide web, can only be verified through an investigative effort, then hearing and judgement by the courts. So, perhaps Alwyn can clarify a little. You know, I have this inherent fear of mobs, and their herd mentality, so you can guess that I am no big fan of lynch mob violence where the size or number of lunatics will determine the truth.

    No offence. I support Bersih’s demands, I also support the millions of Malaysians who wants a better government. I am just not too sure the pastors and priests are up to it. I once heard a sermon preaching to the flock on cloning… even with my basic and bad science, I cringed at the really stupid words that came out of that man of cloth. I suppose you give someone a pulpit, they will just say any damn thing.

    A bit like cyberspace really, LOL!
    _____________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

    “size or number of lunatics will determine the truth” — superb description! — Helen

    Balas
    • 4. I hate N'Sync  |  Mei 7, 2012 at 11:30 pm

      “against” any social injustice, the error is mine, rotfl.

      Balas
  • 5. Anon  |  Mei 10, 2012 at 1:04 am

    You know, about the number of Bersih participants…

    You have to wonder. How many of them were really the much-maligned and mythical free “rakyat”? I suspect more than half of the crowd were actually opposition party members.

    The fact of the matter is, Bersih doesn’t represent “we the rakyat” as much as they would like us to believe. It’s a “massive rally” that is about as significant as when UMNO decides to hold a rally among its members. When you consider that it’s actually a street party for PAS, DAP and PKR party members, it’s not as awesome as the news would have us think.

    —–
    PS, I keep forgetting what pseudonym I use on your blog, so I’ll be sticking to Anon from now on.

    Balas
    • 6. Helen Ang  |  Mei 10, 2012 at 1:17 am

      Are you ‘the’ Anon? You must be, as ‘Anon’ (Malaysia) is almost trademarked to the one & only capital ‘a’.

      I’m soooo glad! you’re back.

      I was afraid you kecil hati over the favouritism shown to I-hate-N’Sync.

      Please accept my apology over that matter & my unfair treatment of you.

      I admit that my judgment was faulty & my moderation standard below par in that episode.

      Please stay okay ‘cos many of us missed you.

      Balas
    • 7. shinji  |  Mei 10, 2012 at 10:28 am

      Berkenaan dengan jumlah sebenar peserta Bersih 3.0, barangkali inilah sebabnya mereka menolak untuk diadakan perhimpunan Duduk-Bantah di Stadium Merdeka (atau mana-mana stadium), kerana kapasiti tempat duduk dalam sesebuah stadium adalah tetap (Stadium Merdeka berkapasiti 20,000 tempat duduk). Oleh itu adalah mustahil untuk jumlah peserta dimanipulasi dari 20,000 sehingga mencecah angka 300,000. Sedangkan untuk sesuatu perhimpunan yang memerlukan pesertanya untuk “duduk”-bantah, bukankah sebuah stadium yang tersedia ribuan tempat duduk lebih sesuai berbanding dataran/jalan raya?

      Balas

Dijemput memberi komen anda

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


The Lion Sleeps Tonight

KARPAL SINGH

Petty Tyranny of Madame Speaker

They always call Utusan

the “Umno mouthpiece”

Dear readers,

If you like my writing, please introduce my blog to 3 of your friends. Thank you.

Helen Ang

CLICK ON IMAGE TO READ

'Condolence' in Oik's blog

'Mereka perlu disekolahkan' in Sarah's blog

'10 alleged ghost sightings' in Alizul's blog

'The Calovinia' in Anisah Afifah's blog

Kiriman Terbaru

Pengunjung

  • 3,773,853 hits

Kalender

Mei 2012
I S R K J S A
« Apr   Jun »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

Arkib

Suapan


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 303 other followers

